The East Midlands Centre for History Teaching and Learning is currently based in the Department of Politics, History and International Relations at Loughborough University and is co-directed by Alan Booth, Marcus Collins and Chris Szejnmann.


All nine universities in the region subscribe to the EMC. They are represented on the Steering Group by the following academics:


Ross Balzaretti – Head of History, University of Nottingham

Alan Booth – Emeritus Professor of History, University of Nottingham and Visiting Professor of History Pedagogy, Loughborough University

Angela Brown – Head of History, Languages and International Studies, Nottingham Trent University

Marcus Collins – Senior Lecturer in Cultural History, Loughborough University

Cath Feely – Lecturer in History, University of Derby

Kate Hill – Principal Lecturer in History and Heritage, University of Lincoln

Paul Jackson – Senior Lecturer in History, University of Northampton

George Lewis – Head of History, University of Leicester

Joe Merton – Lecturer in Twentieth-Century History, University of Nottingham

Craig Spence – Academic Coordinator for Heritage Studies, Bishop Grosseteste University

Chris Szejnmann – Professor of Modern History, Loughborough University

Ian Whitehead – Head of Literary, Historical and Cultural Studies, University of Derby

Pippa Virdee – History Programme Leader, De Montfort University


Nicola Sheanon (Lincoln), Linda Harrison (Leicester) and Daniel Jones (Northampton) are the student representatives on the steering group, respectively representing undergraduate, taught postgraduate and postgraduate research students in the East Midlands.


The EMC is a partner organisation with M3C, the Midlands3Cities Doctoral Training  Partnership directed by Sharon Monteith (Nottingham). The two organisations aim to collaborate in the field of doctoral training in history teaching and pedagogy and a M3C student will shortly be appointed to the steering committee.


Nikola Tomic maintains the website and provides administrative support.